July 28, 2014

Minimum wage hike takes effect Friday

Posted in Minimum Wage, Uncategorized tagged at 11:28 am by Tom Jacobson

Minnesota_State_Capitol_5The first phase of Minnesota’s minimum wage increases will take effect this Friday, August 1, 2014. Starting then, small employers must pay at least $6.50 per hour, and large employers must pay at least $8.00 per hour.

The law also allows for a 90-day training wage and a youth wage, both of which mirror the small employer minimum wage rates. It also includes automatic increases on August 1, 2015 and August 1, 2016, and it allows for inflationary increases starting in 2018.

For minimum wage purposes, state law defines a large employer as any enterprise with an annual gross dollar volume of sales made or business done of $500,000.00 or more. A small employer is any enterprise with an annual gross volume of sales made or business done of less than $500,000.00.

For more information about this article, please see the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry’s fact sheet on minimum wage rates, the DOLI’s related Employer Fact Sheet, or contact me at taj@alexandriamnlaw.com.

The comments posted in this blog are for general informational purposes only. They are not to be considered as legal advice, and they do not establish an attorney-client relationship. For legal advice regarding your specific situation, please consult your attorney.

Copyright 2014 Swenson Lervick Syverson Trosvig Jacobson Schultz, PA

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: